Home Again

I feel really at home again now that I've been to the Bellingham Farmers Market again. It was a swirl of color and sound today, and the weather obliged with blue skies and sunshine.

Everything was so beautiful that I found it hard to stop taking photos and focus on replenishing our stock of fresh vegetables, fruits, cheese, yogurt, and bread, but after a couple of hours of shooting -- and talking with friends, including Artist Annie, and many of the vendors -- I did manage to fill three large shopping bags with those items.

These glowing Chojuro Asian pears were my favorite image, but I've put a few close contenders here -- I think you'd be surprised to see some of the local produce available this far north!

Tomorrow afternoon is the 8th annual Bite of Bellingham with more than 20 local restaurants and vendors offering tastes of their specialities for a minimal charge, as well as a beer garden featuring the collaborative ale that three Bellingham breweries created for Bellingham Beer Week, which began yesterday. Both Phil and I will enjoy that event!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.