IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Mud Mud Glorious Mud

We received an email offer from the Spa in Kings Lynn to try out their mud baths (and spend the afternoon relaxing in the sauna, swimming pool etc). Those of you who know us, will know that we quite like this sort of thing, but the mud bath experience is new to us both.

Verdict? Rubbish! Honestly ... it was rubbish. I used to work in hotels in Germany. It was one of my (many) duties to shovel in raw mud into the machine for our rich guests at the 5 star hotel to go and enjoy themselves for an hour or two. They had big baths and it looked fun. What do we get here? The kind girl advised us to smear ourselves in mud from a very small dish and then we both sat inside a pretty cold dark chamber for 45 mins. We were bored! I looked at the coloured lights on the ceiling, thinking "is this it?"

The best bit was when the lights went out to signal the end of our 45 mins treatment .... and the automatic sprinkler came on. My wife had heard the girl mention this, but I must have missed that bit of info ... it took me by surprise.

We both decided that mud baths in the UK are a bit of a joke. I must go back to my old hotel in Germany and experience the real thing.

Still .... the rest of our time at the Spa was enjoyable. The usual stuff .... sauna, steam room, swimming pool, jacuzzi, recliners .... free herbal teas. A nice way to spend the afternoon.

But no more "mud baths" :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.