Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Cheshiahud Loop

We decided today would be a good day to walk around Lake Union- it’s more recently been called the Cheshiahud Loop - 6 miles around, following the water, connecting many small parks, green spaces and historical sights on the Lake. (Also I wanted to test my new hiking boots when it wasn’t raining.) It started out breezy and cloudy but got sunnier and more beautiful as we walked. It’s called Cheshiahud after the last native American to live here - after it was illegal for “Indians” to live in the city. I don’t want to make this too long , but here’s a link to “Indian John” as he was called who made wonderful dugout canoes, if you are interested- on a great Lake Union History site. Also a link to the Parks Department site about the loop which has a great map of the lake on it.

My blip is about a block south of where we live --there used to be a working boatyard here - now it is new very high end floating homes. We preferred the boatyard. And a Bouledome for anyone to play a game of petangue. (I thot it was called Boules) at Louisa Street End Park, one of 35 pocket parks around the lake. I couldn’t resist picking out more photos as the day got bluer and more beautiful to show some of the varied scenes going clockwise around the lake. (H wouldn’t stop for me to take photos, but I managed....and we did stop for a coffee) I’ve put a page on flickr if you want an idea of the variety -there are working boatyards, 2 seaplane companies, a wooden boat center, 4 rowing and other boat clubs, 2 large parks, the new one at South Lake Union with the new space for the Museum of History and Industry in the old Naval building from 1942, and Gasworks Park on the north end from 1972-which I didn’t photograoh this time...and parts of the Burke Gilman bike/walking trail. Definitely just a small glimpse - but you get the idea.

Too much for one blip I know, but it’s an overview of this connecting trail right in the heart of the city -and now it's there and I can add to it. AND the picture is on my
One Street... and the square september challenge by Ambling Camera.....

It took us nearly 2 hours and 40 minutes - my hiking boots passed the test, I’m not sure about my legs. Had to sit on the couch and be appalled at today’s America’s Cup races - we do so want NZ to win! (but that’s another story....) Whew, sorry, too many words-but I had a bit of time today... will fix that tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.