My Gym

This is our CrossFit gym ( or ‘box’ to give it its proper name). Other than a single rower there are no machines here. The CrossFit mantra of ‘we don’t use machines, we build machines’ is definitely evident here.

Today’s workout was based on our technique for cleaning. No, not tidying up the box but honing our technique to get the Olympic bar from the floor to your ‘rack’ position (roughly resting across the shoulder area) which is called a clean. Jen and I are still getting our technique dialled in and the more we do it the better we get!

The WOD (workout for the day) was wall walks. This was new to us. Basically lie face down on the floor, feet against the wall and the ‘walk’ up the wall so you end up in a handstand. Then back down to face down on the floor. That’s 1 rep – now repeat 30 times! I definitely struggled at first on the mental side of trusting that I wasn’t going to flip over or crumple once upside down. Once I got into the flow of it I was OK, unfortunately by that point I was starting to get tired!

So cleaning and walking – easy right, er no! But brilliant fun seeing how much your body can achieve when you push it beyond its comfort zone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.