MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Peewit But Peeved About The Snipe

I took what is probably my last walk this season along the Great Amwell Nature Reserve Dragonfly Trail, which closes at the end of the month. I saw common darters and hawkers.

On the way to the James Hide I saw the electric blue flash of a kingfisher. Whilst in the hide recently I shot a juvenile water rail but no luck today. :(

I proceeded to the huge White Hide, which is known as The Hilton. I had it to myself for a while. I got some lovely heron pics but Jack has featured here recently. I was quite excited to see a pair of snipe. Shame they were too far away for a decent pic. :(

I used to see lots of peewits on grassland in the Dengie Hundred when I was a child but one doesn't see them now. A Polish woman brought her little boy into the hide and I enjoyed telling them about the birds, they were so enthusiastic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.