Back to the Night Shots...

After four whole days of Blips featuring people!! (yes, unbelievable, I know), it's back to the comfort and familiarity of standing around in the small hours with a tripod.

With rain having just been and still lingering and yet more forecast over next two days, thought I'd get Wednesday's very early.

This is Salisbury Arts Centre - and I have taken similar shots over the years before - and they have used a couple for their publicity as well as one as their annual Christmas card. Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm, the wideangle purposefully looking up, to give it a thrusting up perspective.

Once the church of St Edmund's and now de-consecrated, they have fitted LED floodlights that come on by photosensitive switch during hours of darkness. Apparently, they cost very little to run and give a certain element of security lighting, I guess. Yes, they were on pink and white tonight but the pink seems to be dominant.

The orange of the sky is unaltered from the RAW file - it was even more vivid as the accompanying jpeg - and is the result of the city's streetlamps hitting very low and wet cloud.

This was the first of nine shots taken - somehow I got it right first time and the rest just (less successful) variants on the same theme.

So, yes, back to familiar turf, picture-wise - thanks to all who supported my people pics and getting them all into the spotlight and for all the nice comments, saying I should do more of that sort. I certainly will, I at least have a day and evening of snapping performance fringe "theatre" on Saturday, for instance.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.