EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Sic transit gloria mundi...

The Blip of today is more about a story that I wanted to share.
This dog used to stand on the desk of my great-grandmother and was a
Great Dane of impressive shape and hight, made of brass.
In March 1942, half of the town of Luebeck in Northern Germany was the first one to be burnt down, by two air raids of British bombers. According to Wikipedia, it happened more to see, what the bombers were able to do, than for strategical reasons. Luebeck was a town with a beautiful medieval center, 7 cathedrals and with all this the house of my ancestors, 3 stories high, plus an attic burnt down. The family survived in the basement of a neighboring house. During the next days, my grandmother, mother and uncle searched the ashes for anything of value and found the Great Dane, shrunk to the size of a Pincher with bow legs.
Now it came to me to the US and it is a dear link to my family’s past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.