All part of the story

By Treshnish

Tiree aftersun

I had meant to blip something to do with the Mull Rally today, as parts of the island and sections of the community have been taken over by this 40+ year old annual event. I collected M from the school bus at Dervaig today as I was there anyway, and there was a sense in the air of getting to where you needed to be before the roads were closed and that would be that.

The junction where the Torloisk children get off the bus was packed with camping spectators. Endless cars. It was a little like the hours before the end of business on Christmas eve, except that we weren't shopping.

Calgary Campsite was full to bursting.

Anyway, it was a magical day. So clear and bright. I came home ready to blip the rally blip, but then the sun started setting. And I headed down to Haunn to watch it sink behind Tiree, with stags roaring on the hill, one proud against the skyline. A raven overhead. The cows were grazing in amongst the past summer seed heads in the Black Park.

So there it was. And I do apologise, it is another sun one. The ones that got away are on the blog here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.