Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

The Final Vinyl!

An interesting start to the day, as I queued up at the newly re-opened HMV shop on Oxford Street as they were giving away 100 copies of New Order's first album 'Movement' on clear vinyl. I'm not the New Order fan, my brother is -- borderline obsessed actually! So he asked me to see if I could get him one if I was in the area.

Bit of drama in the queue... chap just behind me was very chatty and subtly positioned himself parallel to me as we waited. Then as the queue started moving, he sneakily started inching ahead, until it narrowed to the point where he was actually in front of me. Being very British about it, I didn't say anything at this stage, thinking I could reclaim my place as we progressed. Anyway, at one point his guilt got the better of him and he said 'Oh sorry, I seem to have taken your place, don't I? You wouldn't be happy if I got the last one, would you!"... and he let me back in front.

And this would be a pretty dull story if it wasn't for the fact that -- I GOT THE LAST ONE! I got copy 100 out of 100! And the attempted queue-jumper walked away empty-handed! Hee-hee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.