Here goes......

By Lindiloo

The Chalamain Gap

Day 7 - Friday

Last night over some wine we hatched a plan to do a much more difficult walk today. It sounded okay in the book but looked a bit scarier on the OS map. Just as well we had no internet, if I had seen a photo I doubt I would have gone!

The plan was to start from the Sugarbowl car park near Glenmore Lodge and to head up to the Chalamain gap where we would assess if we would go any further. The walk up to the gap was a good one, climbing quite quickly to a good height with excellent views. It was very windy though so we had to concentrate to stay upright. On approach the gap looks very forbidding and it almost feels like you are entering the mouth of a great monster (am I being dramatic enough?). In the first part we all managed to negotiate the rocks reasonably well until we came to a point where it seemed like a Great Wall of boulders and no path through. K and A went on to assess and the decision was made that only Mr Lindiloo and I had the right footwear and clothing to go on so go on we did.

I nearly wore through the fingers of my gloves and still have aches in my arms. It was like a game of chess where as you planned your next move, you were thinking ahead to the move beyond. This only lasts for a short distance but took a long time to negotiate through. We made it and carried on along a rough track, pretty much into the mouth of the Lairig Ghru. We then picked up another path that took as along the river until it climbed up the hill again and then through a beautiful pine forest and Rothiemurchis estate. We finished up at Loch Morlich.

This certainly challenged me as I have never done anything like this. Turns out the Chalamain Gap is also known as "the leg breaker", didn't know that before doing it! Fish and chips, packing and another card tournament. Heading home tomorrow after a fantastic week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.