Suillia

The Old Sulehay photoshoot took place this afternoon. Fortunately we'd decided to shorten the session to avoid the predicted rain, which is just as well as it tipped down quite impressively mid-morning! It was still rather damp and grey when we arrived at 1pm, but that didn't put off seven keen photographers, armed with tripods, macro-flashes and an impressive range of lenses.

We found quite a few fungi, and Chris got some good invertebrate shots by turning over lots of rocks. I didn't take a huge number of images, because I was talking to the participants and making sure we stayed more-or-less together. I think everyone enjoyed the afternoon, and we all learnt from each other. I've finally got to grips with the workings of my tripod, and managed to take this shot with its legs splayed out and the camera held just a few inches off the ground.The fly sitting on the Bonnet Mycena Mycena galericulata is a species of Suillia. Luckily it stayed very still, and I was pleased to get such a clear image in the very dark woodland without needing to use the flash.

On Friday evening I received an e-mail from Blipfoto informing me that one of the images I submitted to the 'Lovers of Light' competition is to feature in a pop-up exhibitions opening in Notting Hill next Wednesday. I was invited to the launch, but sadly it's rather short notice and I don't think I can spare the time, as I have a report deadline for the following day. I'd love to know which image it is, as I didn't realise any of mine had even been shortlisted. All rather strange...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.