Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Blessing

I'm not in the habit of snapping odd moments in the middle of the Eucharist - I think I need to make that clear - but on this, our first Sunday back in Holy Trinity after 28 weeks of worshipping on a badminton court, I wanted to capture something of the moment that we've been looking forward to.

The church building is 160 years old, and it looks it. But today, after the major renovations to roof, walls, plaster and floor (completely replaced), even with the work that remains to be done, we could feel the difference. And as a singer, I have to say one of the most wonderful differences lies in the acoustic. With the carpets gone and the wooden dado replaced by smooth plaster, it suddenly feels like worshipping in a cathedral.

You can't show this in a photo, and you can't see my reaction either. But believe me, I'm smiling ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.