My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

The obligatory marathon medal blip

3 hours and 9 minutes!!!
Well I wasn't expecting that when I started, nor the post-race beer and pretzels at the end, now that's recovery food!
Oh and there may have been bananas too...I only have two hands.

Munich really is a great marathon course with a run through the Englischer Garten and the obligatory European industrial/business estate making an appearance at 25km rather than the usual 20 miles. Instead the 20 mile point was right in the centre of the city with the crowds cheering everyone on before a last trek up Leopoldstraße before winding up -around and- into the Olympic stadium.

The only downside -apart from the pain- was the Italian fella that cheated at 32km. At 32 you take a left and do a loop before coming back to where you turned about 4km later...but not Mr cheat! No he decided to just go straight on. I really hope he got disqualified!

So Laura obviously took this picture of me recovering at the end before I grabbed a shower and we headed into town to relax in the sun in front of the Residenz and eavesdrop on a tour group to find out about the Bavarian kings -including the mad ones- before relaxing some more in a Brauhaus.


I have now finally covered all the days from Munich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.