J0shua

By J0shua

Bridge Strut

When the sky matches the water. Taken from the ever popular Mrs Macquarie's chair, I'm positive I'm the first person to ever take a photo from here, ok maybe not. Yet again a big cruise boat in town and my aim was to get photos of it leaving town. Regulars may note I've been taking lots of cruise boat photos but not posting them, suppose I don't want to bore you or myself. There's a side project which I'm hoping to do involving boats moving through the harbour.

Anyway to get to this spot I took the opportunity to walk through the royal botanic gardens which is always a treat. Love day light saving and the gardens extended hours to 630pm. There is a photo project in the gardens. With the views from the gardens, the gardens themselves and the historic buildings within the gardens.

I'm standing out on a rock as the waves crash a mere couple of centimetres (inch) from the camera all to get a photo.... silly stupid. I'm sitting beside the camera and it will be quickly lifted should a bigger wave decide to splash high. Since this is a harbour waves aren't natural they are generated by boats, predominately the ferries, bigger the ferry stronger the wave. Which means it is pretty safe to get close to the waters edge and the waves are fairly predicable and you can see them coming.

Oooh yeah it was the Opera Houses 40th birthday the other day, logic would suggest I should have been there for the presentation of the cake, concert and party but prior commitments prevent that. And it annoys me that this Sydney icon is younger than me.

in Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.