A pilgrimage

We actually had to change the legislation in order for Ikea to open here, and then the store couldn't actually open its doors until new approach roads were built off the M50. They finally opened towards the end of July. Carl and I decided to wait a while until the novelty value began to wear off before going to have a look. We'd originally though of doing the pilgrimage last week but changed the plan and waited until today.

We had breakfast with one of last night's hosts, bussed it back to my place and picked up the car. It was hardly worth the effort of getting onto and off the M50 to get there, and our route back involved using back roads instead. I don't remember what time it was when we got there, but all of a sudden it was after 5.00 pm, we'd worn our feet off and had been forced to take a pit stop to sample Ikea Food and quench our thirst.

I only came home with a few little odds and ends, but Carl did a lot better and got a table and a couple of stools as well as some other stuff -- all very reasonably priced. I wouldn't say that I'd rush back, and I certainly wouldn't do the whole explore-every-inch routine we did today, but I can easily imagine checking out the catalogue and heading there some time again with a specific purchase in mind.

=========================================================

I let a bit of a blip gap develop, all for no good reason apart from laziness. I've now made up for that and have back-blipped Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.