Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Moon Over Mt Riley

I met one of my dog-walking friends soon after 5.30am this morning. She said “Did you see the moon?’’ I had seen it as I was driving from home and it was huge and very beautiful. By the time we were out of our vehicles and ready for our dog walk the moon was dropping fast down behind the cotton wool clouds and Mount Riley. I captured this image just in time.
We then set out on our walk. L took me on a slightly different route, skirting the Omaka Airfield and the through paddocks filled with long grasses. There must have been a shower of rain overnight as the grasses were very wet. L was OK as she was wearing long rubber boots. My running shoes became very wet and my socks and shoes were covered in grass seeds. All in all it was a very good walk in good company until L and her dogs took a differing route back to her vehicle.
We had a lovely fine partly cloudy morning until a heavy rain storm swept in from the west. There were black, black skies and thunder and lightning galore. It was very dramatic but I wished it had happened during the evening when the dozens of lightning strikes would have been visible. My sensitive dog, Fergus was pretty scared. I think he thought we were in the middle of an enormous fireworks display….. With all the noise of the thunder rolling around the district.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.