Mikey88

By Mikey88

Flying Off

It was COLD this morning. Had to scrape the windscreen when I left to get the shopping done. It did warm up during the day, but we needed the heating on in the house just to keep it at fifteen degrees.

After lunch, I took my daughter to work and then set about clearing up the buddleia branch which had fallen a couple of days ago. it didn't take too long. Most of it went into the recycling bag, but the thicker bits went onto our little woodpile, which is growing slowly but steadily. Hopefully it will provide a useful habitat to a range of creatures next summer.

As I worked, my little friend, the robin, was flitting about my feet and on nearby branches. I had the camera with me and took a few shots of it, but I've blipped several pictures of it already, so I chose a different picture.

When I'd finished the branch, I stood just behind the bush with a clear view of the feeder, which was bathed in late afternoon sunshine, and waited for the birds to come. Sure enough, sparrows turned up and I got some nice shots of them, and then a blue-tit arrived and I managed to get this shot of it as it left the feeder.

It's cold again tonight, and my poor wife is on Prayer Pastor duty, so will be coming home at about two o'clock in the morning. Probably bringing a blast of cold air into the bed when she eventually climbs in!

I'm planning on going down to the river in the morning. Should be lovely if the skies stay clear.

Hope everyone has a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.