Guardian Angel

This Angel should have been winging her way up to Edinburgh this afternoon. Every year since my girls have had their own home, I've bought them a white Christmas tree bauble.

I was so pleased when #2 Daughter had reorganised our canceled visit. It was looking forward to seeing her and I wanted to try to arrange a blipmeet over a cup of coffee tomorrow with one of my subs. I had been worried all week that the weather might prevent this.

However, through the night I made the decision that I just wasn't well enough to go. I would put in a bad night and inflict others with my germs. I rang katkatkat at 7.30am to tell her before she went to work. She would have to cancel the table in The Cally Sample Room.

When I opened the curtains I was disappointed to see that our Malus had blown over. It had been in the garden 30 years ago when we moved in, but earlier this year our neighbour had cut its roots to build a flood defense wall. He had already offered to replace it, but still a shame it's going.

Nothing like the shock I got at 9.15am when I saw The Daughter's name come up on the phone. She had come back from work because 2 thirds of her tenement roof had had the roofing felt ripped off by the storm. Water was pouring in through the boarding and onto her ceilings. She hopes she will get a temporary cover put on tomorrow.

Poor Kat, poor everyone who has suffered damage during this horrendous day. May you all have the help you need to get through it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.