An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Melbourne Star

Looking at tonight's sunset images on the computer, I discovered something new – I can see the Melbourne Star Observation Wheel (Formerly Southern Star, AKA Wheel of Misfortune...) from my house! (go LARGE to see it too – to the left of the sun) Not sure if I could see if without the help of a long lens though! (My eyesight isn't what it used to be.) It is in the Docklands area of the city (hence all the cranes visible), at the most westerly point of the setting sun's path across the sky, as seen from my viewpoint.

This giant observation wheel (previously seen in my journal HERE) has been closed since 2009 when it had only been open a very short time before it had to be dismantled due to melting in the extreme heat... (or something like that). It is finally due to reopen at the end of this month! According to their website: "A family ticket for one adult and two children will be available for $56". I look forward to going on it – after a few other people have tested it first!

Edit: I have just read in The Age that: "The wheel features three-and-a-half kilometres of new LED lighting, the most advanced ever installed in Melbourne, allowing for more than 15 million different light combinations. It will light up Melbourne's skyline nightly on opening, and ensure the Melbourne Star plays a key role in Melbourne's major events calendar." So I might be able to see it on the skyline without binoculars!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.