The second half of life..

By twigs

Anna & Sam

Earlier this year friend Sarah asked if I would be available to shoot some pictures at her neice Anna's 'wedding' to Sam who she became engaged to 2 years ago. I say 'wedding' because they were married just 3 weeks ago at home in New York but because of the distances involved, Anna's Kiwi family weren't able to make it over there to attend.

Instead, Anna & Sam decided they would bring their wedding to NZ (including dress) and re-state their vows to one another in a less formal but nevertheless, very meaningful and significant way so that thier Kiwi family could be part of their celebrations.

Sarah and her mum organised a wonderful day for the couple complete with transport to the Haulashore Island venue in this Excalibur Series IV Sedan clsasic car. The Haulashore Island venue was to have been reached via a short ferry crossing but some wild winds meant that this had to be cancelled. Being super-organised of course, they had a back-up venue ready to roll with if needed - the yacht club.

When I broke my foot a couple of weeks ago I thought I wasn't going to be able to do the photos for them :( The moon-boot I got last week in place of the cast however has been an absolute godsend and I have been slowly (or maybe not so slowly!) stretching myself to extend my mobility so that I could do the photos. Having such a relaxed event was great - a photographer hobbling about in a moonboot was no worry at all.

The day was rounded off back at Sarah's mum's place with what she calls her 'traditional Christmas Eve curry' . . . . . . . . followed of course by a beautifully decorated re-wedding cake. What a wonderfully individual and meaningful day for everyone, a day I'm sure Anna and Sam will remember forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.