Through my Eyes

By Kelso

I'm Getting Ready for my Close-up

Mr. K and I went to another small state park today and it's a treasure - many different types of ducks, and all rather close to the jetty.

The Harlequin Duck is one of my favorites. According to Wikipedia. it's not too common in Europe, so I hope you enjoy seeing him. I love that I caught him preening for the camera. His coloring is quite striking close-up.

"Their breeding habitat is cold fast moving streams in north-western and north-eastern North America, Greenland, Iceland and western Russia. The nest is usually located in a well-concealed location on the ground near a stream. They are usually found near pounding surf and white water. They are short distance migrants and most winter near rocky shorelines on the Atlantic and Pacific coasts. They are very rare migrants to western Europe."

Dixie Chick and I were honored that she hit the Spotlight. I wish you could all meet her as I know she would charm you, but come to think of it, I think she has already done that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.