A Glimpse of Glory

It's been a crazy week at work. The spring semester began on Monday, and it is hard to describe the crush of work that happens with each new semester. And the weather on this particular morning was damp and dreary. I drove to work in the rain, lamented the lack of a sunrise, snapped a few pics inside my work building just in case I didn't get any other opportunities.

The challenges of my work day left me gasping for air. But in an energized, "we can do this" sort of way. The team I work with is awesome. Together, we are more than we ever were apart. In them - in us all - I catch glimpses of glory, a vision of what we might become, a world we might help create together. The thought thrills me, keeps me coming back for more. We love what we do. I think it shows.

I was reflecting on this as I wrapped up my work, as I closed my office door at the end of this day: how it's those glimpses of glory that get us through the hard work, through the difficult times, through the challenges. We reach out to one another. We draw energy from each other. We take some light, we give some light; and the lamp we light for someone else is sometimes the lamp that lights our own way. We help each other shine.

As I got to the parking lot outside, I looked up; noted that the sky was starting to do some amazing things. The clouds were very dramatic. I hoped I would get a chance at a few decent shots on the drive home. And I was not disappointed!

I pulled into my new favorite sunset photo op: the little gazebo by the cemetery. And leaped out and snapped a bunch of photos, arriving (fortuitously) just as the light emerged from the edge of the clouds. Shine, and shine, and shine!!!

The song that the scene called to mind is this one, and so it's the link I'm sharing for the day: The Bellamy Brothers, Let Your Love Flow. And I would add to the song's sentiments: let your love shine, that others may draw warmth and hope from its light. And may love shine on you, too, and may it bless you and light your way . . .

Just let your love flow like a mountain stream
And let your love grow with the smallest of dreams
And let your love show and you'll know what I mean
It's the season
Let your love fly like a bird on a wing
And let your love bind you to all living things
And let your love shine and you'll know what I mean
That's the reason
Just let your love flow like a mountain stream
And let your love grow . . .


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.