Journey Through Time

By Sue

It Started With..

one name and one state.

He was born in Texas, she said. And this is my father's name. He left us when I was a baby. I know nothing about my father's side of the family. Nothing.

I offered to help her. She offered to pay me. We struck a deal and I had more fun this last month than Carter has Little Liver Pills, as we used to say. Or possibly monkeys in a barrel. They have fun too, I hear. Anyway......I hunted and gathered and came up with a lot of information readily available on the Internet. She didn't want to fool with it and I did...so it worked out quite nicely for both of us.

This is a back blip, so today (Friday the 17th) we met for lunch and I introduced her to her family. Hopefully she will get a genealogy program (heaven's you can download FREE ones now) and I can send her the information for her to upload to her computer and she can have it all. We were both happy. What I gave to her took me years to get for my family when I started researching after "Roots" was on TV in 1977. No computer then.

More fun than a witch in a broom factory!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.