One by One

One by one my colleagues have gathered over the past few days to sign the book of commitment that has been place outside the chamber of the Scottish Parliament by the Holocaust Educational Trust for Holocaust Memorial Day, which is on Monday.

This is Margaret Burgess, the Housing Minister and Member for Cunninghame South ( and also once my election agent in that seat) but they came from all parties and all parts , of course.

Yesterday I took part in a schools on line Glow Meet about the Holocaust , on Monday itself I will be at Tarbert Academy in Argyll for an assembly focused on the lessons to be learned from Auschwitz ( organised by the two pupils who visited last year on a HET arranged trip supported by the Scottish Government) and on Tuesday I will reply to a Members Business Debate on the same topic.

I suppose I am noticing all these things more, and am keener to talk about them, because I visited Auschwitz with the Holocaust Educational Trust and over 100 senior Scottish school pupils in October - something that awakes a deeper, more personal, more connected understanding of the individual and collective horror and intensifies the imperative to ensure it can never happen again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.