I had a lovely morning and afternoon on the Essex coast (or estuary) today. I took the train to Leigh-on-Sea, then walked along to Southend, stopped to take photos, sat in the sun watching and listening to the birds on the estuary when the tide was out and admired the huge, beautiful sky, whilst eating chips (as is the law on days out like that).

I should have caught the train home from Southend Central, while the weather was still good, but instead, decided to walk back again to Leigh-on-Sea, as I'd enjoyed the walk so much, to catch the train home and also, hoping to see one of the wonderful sunsets they get there. It was a big mistake though, as the weather suddenly changed as I got half way there. The wind picked up, temperature dropped, poured down with rain, then thunder and lightning to add to the fun. I was drenched and as chilly as an ice pole. A horrendous journey home too...but, don't worry, I won't bore you with that!

Apart from the last part of the Essex estuary adventure, I thoroughly enjoyed it and am now de-frosting like an old chest freezer, after peeling off my frozen, wet clothes.

Hope you are all enjoying your weekends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.