Possibly the best

By Letters

The misfitting

Most days, I still miss the countryside. The trees, the views and the coal fires all made for a back to nature lifestyle. Not that I'd swap my centrally heated 1930's granite ex-council house in a boring part of town for the cold damp of rural Aberdeenshire, you understand, but just a hint of the old would be good.
With this in mind, I recently purchased a nice cast iron Chinese chimenea.
It’s a far cry from the bonfires of old or those winter by the fireside evenings but at least, or so I thought, it’s a link with the past and it comes with a BBQ which might come in handy if my cooker ever breaks down.
It arrived today via some poor near retired postie weighed down by 16kg of Chinese cast iron packed in a leaky cardboard box.
The thing looked good on the Amazon website and parts of it look good when delivered. Sadly the parts don’t fit together.
I have e-mailed the vendor who has asked for some images of the misfitting. I have provided same and suggested I re-cycle the misshapen thing or donate it to Orson Wells for a remake of his 1932 broadcast about aliens.
Hopefully the story of the chimenea from China will be resolved without the old postie having to collect it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.