There's A Light

On a day when so many friends and family have no power and no heat, I feel fortunate to have only lost a tree as a result of yesterday's storm . Today we saw the sun all day with a high temperature hovering at 32°F and it was glorious.

As I returned from a short shopping trip (still fighting a bit of a virus), I saw this little patch of ice clinging to our miniature maple on the front lawn. It was a lasting image of what we've been through in the past twenty-four hours. Yet as so often happens it seemed to possess a beauty all it's own.

The past couple of days I've been watching from afar as my oldest daughter accepts the waning hours of a friend's life. She's been on my mind for most of the day. I don't see her much as she has a busy life with three young ones, but I hurt for her as she navigates her way through this time.

It's a smile moment in the sense that we're connected through the years of highs and lows that we've shared together. It's the hills and valleys that seem to leave those indelible marks on our lives.

Though there's darkness all about this photo, there's also a sign of light in the distance. A sign of renewed hope, a sign of a new tomorrow.

Pray on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.