Littlemouse Adventures

By LitlemouseLilly

Skirt

Just the hemming, tidying and pressing to go and then skirt.

Skirt that I made.

My second ever item of handmade by me clothing.

And what's more I made it without the instructions. I've read the instructions and I'd made the other skirt from the packet so it wasn't too bad flying solo and I had my really helpful dressing making book that made zip insertion much clearer.

And technically I've made one and a half skirts today. I got to the first fit stage and realised I'd forgotten to do my pattern alteration, I need to make it bigger as the pattern didn't go up to my size (my fault for buying the wrong sized pattern but I knew that simple skirts would be easy to size up). Luckily I had enough material to cut out another one.

I'm gonna try making PJs next.

I also have a dress pattern to try, but I'm a little more worried about that, I think I would have to make a few alterations to get the fit (patterns are generally created for a generic B cup or maybe it's C anyway that's a bit smaller than FF), but my book does cover altering patterns for fit (I'm thinking Ironman fabric for a dress).

I also really want to make a corset, far too worried about flying solo on that as incorrect sewing of the bones could be dangerous, but there is someone not too far that does a workshop (of course I need a job first to save money to pay for it).

Woohoo go me :)

In case your wondering it's ikea fabric

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.