creative lenna

By creativelenna

my art journals

View Larger art journal pages.

My current art journal is on the left. I've added to it a round sticker from my great uncle's exhibition at the Museum of Art in FT Lauderdale. It's a small reproduction of his painting, Cape Cod Pier. Steven and I were given these stickers to wear when we checked in for the event. I figured this art of his will inspire me to add some of my own art to the page. I go in stops and starts with my art journals . . . the only thing I really do consistently every day is take photographs and journal about them here on blip! Sometimes I do both my art and my photography daily, but it is hard to keep it up with that. So, I go with the flow and enjoy being creative wherever I can find it. That is what is important to me.

The larger, open journal with the photo I took of a snowy egret dancing on the beach is from an art journal I worked in everyday for a few months in 2011. The first of two journals! I picked it up the other day and so enjoyed going through it again. Looking at each page I remembered when I was working in this journal and how good it felt to be creating like that so often. I'm still creative with my photographs and journaling here, but it's not quite the same. I think part of my interest in photography is because it is a newer art for me and one where I have so much to learn. Playing with paper and paint and creating something, making something with my hands, this still has a pull on me. So I brought this journal from a few years past into my office/studio and laid it next to my current art journal and took a photo. Perhaps the journals will have a talk! No really, I did it simply to inspire me to get back in there and play. I noticed tonight there are only 4 page spreads left in my current art journal based on positive affirmations. I would like to finish this journal and start a new one! I'll keep you posted. I know I have quoted this before, but it is so appropriate...

Creativity, as has been said, consists largely of rearranging what we know in order to find out what we do not know. Hence, to think creatively, we must be able to look afresh at what we normally take for granted.
— George Kneller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.