The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Devizes

I had three goals in mind when I set off for Devizes: to find out what was wrong with my wretched smartphone; to find a decent loaf of bread; and to have a cappuccino before I got home.

I planned a round trip with a couple of extra stops to make the most of the rare sunshine. My first stop was at the bottom of Marsh Lane, where there is a bridge over the Kennet and Avon, at the foot of the famous Caen Hill flight of locks. I have blipped these more than once before, so have not chosen any images from this visit this time.

I parked close to Devizes Wharf and set off towards the Market Place. I soon discovered that my mobile was in need of a new battery, but the repair shop was shut due to half-day closing and nowhere else seemed to stock the right one.

For my loaf I tried Dolcipani's in Old Swan Yard, a family run coffee house with its own bakery on the premises. Master baker restaurateur Giovanni Campanella recently reached the finals in a national TV competition run by ITV. They didn't have exactly the kind of loaf I was after but did provide me with a fresh spelt loaf that did the job, albeit at a price.

I wasn't yet ready for a coffee, although I'm sure they could have provided an excellent cup, as I had more to do before returning to the car, and the canalside café at the Wharf wasn't open, but my return trip took me to Horton Bridge, also on the Kennet and Avon, where the Bridge Inn was able to oblige me with a cappuccino.

A new battery was ordered online when I got home, so all my modest goals were accomplished.

L.
2.3.2014

Blip #1195
Consecutive Blip #057
Day #1434

Alternatives:
Towards Foxhangers
Dunkirk Landscape
Devizes Wharf (with Archie in the background)
Bar At The Bridge Inn

A Visit To Devizes, 26 February 2014 (Flickr set)

Lens: Pentax 17-70 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Fats Domino - Lady Madonna (1968)
Fats Domino was born in New Orleans on this day in 1928. He was one of the great influences of the Beatles, and Paul McCartney wrote this song as a pastiche of his style. Fats returned the favour with this version. It was his final Top 100 chart single, and peaked at No. 100 in 1968.

One year ago: Smokey 1244 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.