wingpig

By wingpig

fall back

I know I don't have to but I'll try and stick with the post-stuff-taken-before-noon thing for this week at least as it might at least force me to start leaving before the crucial 07:27 busy-ness cutoff, before which the streets are pleasant, empty and peaceful and after which they are suddenly steamingly busy with grumpymental people with no sense of courtesy. I have a plan for tomorrow anyway and can head purposefully out in a definite direction without the usual microdithering between different routes. The plan also benefits from a scarcity of Other People upon the Chosen route, again suggesting earliness. I always used to leave at or just before seven but have slowly drifted laterwards over the last year or so; I blame the internet. The camera probably doesn't help either: when I was mostly cycling to work it was imperative to leave before the streets filled with cars but when mostly walking in order to take pictures it's not quite as vital.

I occasionally wish that I'd kept this all nice and anonymous if only so that when I have forty minutes of my day wasted I could have whined about it with impunity. Still, no-one wants to read about that. I expect they wish instead to speculate upon what happened to the rest of the builder and whether or not it's worth popping down to the canal tomorrow lunchtime as well in case any more interesting portions float up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.