An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Today was the day I was being zapped with electricity in the first step of hopefully diagnosing how bad my carpal tunnel syndrome is.

David picked me up and off we headed to the EEG Dept in the unfortunately named Medicine for Elderly Foyer. As if I didn’t feel ancient enough, the signs directing us to right area of the hospital also included the Stroke Rehabilitation Unit and Geriatric Care! Someone is definitely trying to tell me something! :))

After plunging my hands into a basin of very warm water as they were too cold for the test apparently, the lovely lady sat me down facing her with my arms and hands stretched in front of me on a fluffy pillow. It looked as though she was about to give me a lovely hand massage and manicure.

Alas she wired me up and shot 10,000 volts of electricity through my hands and fingers till they were twitching and jumping about of their own free will, whilst my hair looked as though it had been rubbed by 100 balloons* and I was using every fibre of my being not to shout out each time the electrical current fizzed through my nerves!

Tiny pulses she said. Would feel as though I was being pinged by little elastic bands she said. Aye right! And for good measure she did my good hand too. Oh how I laughed...

Actually no, I came out and demanded David take me to Gloagburn for a latte and a slice of malteser cake, where we lost track of time and realised if we didn’t get a shift on, Alan would be sitting on the doorstep waiting for us.

We drove home the back roads like a bat out of hell, arriving home with a minute to spare.

How I managed to snap this rather appropriate blip on the way I will never know!

Buzzin'!

*I may have been exaggerating about my hair :p


Proud Mum
Light Lunch
The Morning After






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.