Acervuline or Diamonds are a Girl's best Friend

Time rolls on,
And youth is gone,

And you can't straighten up when you bend.
But stiff back

Or stiff knees,

You stand straight at Tiffany's.
Diamonds! Diamonds!

I don't mean rhinestones!

Diamonds are a girl's best friend.

What else needs to be said??

I wasn’t excited by the word for todays challenge. Little heaps made me think of molehills or worm casts, nothing pretty or blippable. Then I remembered this stash of diamonds. Igor didn’t know anything about it and was a bit shocked when he found me piling them into little heaps on my desk. (I haven’t told him they’re not real. Do you think I should??)

They are certainly pretty but as it turns out not very easy to photograph. For some blips I wish I could show the progression from the first images I take to the one I eventually publish. I had a lot of fun with this one. I was trying to get some bokeh in the background so I played around with the lighting for ages. Eventually the best results came from having white lights on the front heap and then a small torch, which by comparison has a very orange light, shining through the heaps in the blurry background.

This image is the result of yet another misspent hour of playing around in the dark with some lights and a camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.