A view from St Swithin

By stswithin50

Bennachie

With Mrs St Swithin on family duty again I have the weekend to myself. Took advantage of a bright morning by kicking myself out of bed and having a 6 mile tramp across the tops of Bennachie. Bright, cold day with great views of Aberdeenshire , the Cairngorms and the East Coast . Much better conditions than when I was last here. This is the view from Oxen Crag looking towards Craigshannoch one of the other tops . Its an interesting hill with evidence of an old granite quarry near Oxen Crag and the remains of an old Pictish fort on top of Mither Tap which is the most recognisable top and which gives the hill its very characteristic shape.
There's been a lot of work done on the paths and signage on the hill - I don't have any problems with that but the paths are quite broad and not very attractive as can be seen from this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.