wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Spring clean up

Well I am hoping for it soon. The snow is starting to melt and it is fastly (made that word up. The iPad hates it) coming on mud season. We are expecting a major snow storm on Tuesday. At this point I am like bring it who cares. I know we won't be skiing in July. I'll just wait.
You can tell how lazy I was in the fall and how spring is coming by the plethora of dead rotting things in the yard. I almost blipped a birch reindeer that the fungi have taken over. Maybe tomorrow. I know more excitement than you can handle.
This is Dusty Miller from the window box on the shed. Every year I say "oh I will use that in the Christmas wreath " and every year I forget.
My pictures have been not so hot lately so I thought I would go with something more "arty"
Before I moved in with my dad, we owned a condo up the street for 23 years. If you have lived in a condo, then you know political things can get. We had a "grounds committee headed by a woman named Betty.
Now Betty hated me. Seriously she didn't dislike me, she hated me. When I found that out...........well the gauntlet was thrown.
Betty HATED orange. I had orange nasturtiums, tigerlillys tulips and an amazing array of other flowers with some purple thrown in just for giggles. One day she was walking around with the board and the grounds crew and stopped in front of my unit and said"well here is our problem unit" I laughed my bum off.
So the next night my next door neighbor and I got, well for lack of a better word.......smashed. (I guess it turns out that one's early thirties can be fun after all)
We took cans of neon and bright orange tasteful spray paint and went out in the middle of the night and painted the pine tree in front of her unit. While we were doing that 3 neighbors helped. Well she did not catch on as I guess there was a big trouble maker somewhere in the complex.
What she didn't realize is that I had huge gardens at Mom's and my energy was spent there.
I have many Betty stories as she was entertaining in her pompous and superior attitude.
Towards the end she started to like me a bit as I planted pink double impatience and other subtle flowers.
Flash ahead to 2014. One of my favorite parts of work is buying myself flowers in the flower shop for my desk. I smoked for many years. I quit about 18 years ago. I vowed I would celebrate this by taking more oxygen out of the air. putting fresh flowers on my desk (you all know what is coming don't you?) I went in last week to buy daffodils and went up to the counter and thought .............wait for it.........seriously? Betty was there selling flowers. I went back and bought orange tulips instead. Then smiled all the way to my desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.