no closer

After a few days of behaving a bit weirdly and being very slow to focus manually my 105mm macro stopped attempting to focus altogether yesterday, five weeks before the expiration of the warranty. Although I can be fairly certain of having the receipt for something like a lens I was still mildly perturbed that the receipt wasn't in the box and wasn't attached to the refund receipt for the lens I took back and exchanged for the 105. Neither the receipts box-file nor the Visa card box-file nor the bank-statement box file revealed anything useful except for the bank statement showing the purchase-transaction, which would hopefully have been sufficient if the receipt had not turned up in a box full of random stuff not yet properly filed in a specific box-file. The lens is now in the hand of Jessop, whence it will hopefully be swiftly delivered to Nikon and hopefully equally swiftly inspected and either fixed or (preferably) replaced (so that I get another full year of warranty). However swiftly they work it's probably extremely unlikely that I'll be lensed back up in sufficient time to go south for the winter. Fortunately being stuck with just a 50 and 24 doesn't really feel like being stuck, and makes deciding which two lenses to stick in my camera bag each morning a lot easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.