Baby Praying Mantis

Orthodera novaezealandiae

Back in the autumn I was taking a towel from the clothesline when I noticed a large praying mantis clinging to it.  It seemed reluctant to leave and I had to pick it off and put it on a nearby bush.  Then, as I was folding the towel, I discovered a partly built praying mantis nursery.  Too late to reunite the mother with her nursery- she'd gone.

The towel was old and was used only for mopping up spills, so what the heck.  I cut out the piece where the nursery was.  Then I searched the garden for other nurseries to find out what sorts of sites the mothers chose.  They were protected from the worst of the weather and would get sunshine late spring and early summer.  I stapled the piece of towel to the inside of the verandah rail where I could keep an eye on it.

Now, after 7 or 8 months, the babies are emerging.  This little chap is about 7mm long.  He didn't hang around for long.  Two others made off while I was fetching my camera.

It shows up well in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.