Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A storm of emotions...

Thank you to NatureLover for so perfectly summarizing what these past few days have been - a storm of emotions. Sadness, joy, love, fear...

My MIL is still in the hospital but by the time we left her last night she had regained some of her spunk and all of her color. She was very badly dehydrated (a challenge that has existed for years) which has put enormous strain on her kidneys and pancreas. She is being hydrated intravenously and tended round- the clock by the nurses and doctors at the hospital. She was well enough when we left her last night that we decided to return home to NJ today as we had planned, but fully prepared to return to Alabama if the situation takes a bad turn. I am so very glad that we were all with her yesterday and realized that she was more than just tired. Had we not gotten her to a hospital, I can't bear to think what might have happened.

My brother-in-law and his wife are keeping us updated. My BIL stayed with her in her room last night so that she wouldn't be scared and confused when she woke up, and his wife (my SIL) has been with her almost all day today. Thank God for family.

When we got home, I went out to fill the bird feeders and just breath some fresh air. And, to my delight, I saw that my miniature iris's are all in bud now, ready to bloom as soon as we get a sunny day. I find spring to be the most hopeful of seasons - it is my favorite, perhaps because it holds the mystery of new life, of things unknown, of warm days ahead. So, what a fitting photo for me today ... the hopefulness of new life, coupled with natures tears in the form of rain drops.

To each and every one of you who has left beautiful messages and heartfelt comments - I thank you. I don't know what else to say...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.