minnie me

By bmm

POLAND

In a few weeks I'll be leaving for a once in a lifetime trip to Poland.

My Mom's side of the family is of Polish ancestry, but for various reasons very little was know of our family history. I've been interested in genealogy for a long time, mostly researching my Dad's (French) side. More recently I've made great progress on the Polish ancestors, tracing our roots back to the late 1700's and learning which villages my great-grandparents were from before immigrating to America.

My Mom celebrated her 70th birthday in December - quite a milestone. My brother Mark and I surprised her with the gift of a trip to Poland, all 3 of us will be going together. We will be led by a native Pole who specializes in genealogy. Our itinerary will take us to each of the 4 ancestral villages where we hope to learn more about our history and perhaps meet distant cousins.

Of course I will do my best to post blips when I am there. Should be quite an experience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.