Sunshine in Southampton!!

So concerned was I that it was just going to be yet another dull dull day, like yesterday, for my bus trip to Southampton today I thought laterally. So, an interior - taken with a fisheye, to get something a bit different.

But after a little while, hazy sun did seep through but after a nice couple of hours it was back to dullness again. So a wander up to the Guildhall and the big open public spaces to the east of the Civic buildings.

Tried both the 8mm circular and 16mm full-frame fisheyes and got some nice ones. Somehow, this seemed to work the best. The red barrier was as I found it, just laying there. I had to punch an awful lot of contrast through editing into the image to give it the life I wanted and for the colours to zing out. It is the figure taking the large step, framed by the two cranes that made it for me, wrapped up by the round border.

Maybe worth in LARGE

Lens is Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye

A huge plume of thick black smoke swept over Southampton at lunchtime. I was able to snap the flames high above buildings despite being a fair distance away. Just seen on the local BBC News that an "accidentally" started fire on a development building site set off a gas canister. The wail of sirens pierced the spring-like air, for ages.

The double-deckered bus I caught home was delayed ten minutes by a Highways lorry emptying roadside drains, but was parked too far into the road. Then, five miles from Salisbury, the engine was turned off. The bus was leaking coolant and had set off an alarm that had sent everyone mad. I was listening to The Fine Young Cannibals on my Ipod, so didn't hear any of this (derogatory comments on FYC are expected!)

We were told to disembark, including a number of elderly folk. We were promised a bus on the same route would be coming through within five minutes. Three quarters of an hour later, no bus. A repair truck turned up and a large jovial gentleman in overalls tipped out can after can of what looked liked Ribena (blackcurrant cordial) into the back of the T reg clapped out vehicle.

It started up again, he peered underneath and we got back on again. A two hour in total journey. What fun!

Lastly, there's a superb Oxfam music shop in Southampton. With some seriously decent stuff. I mean, CDs, LPs etc that you'd actually want to own, not to give your own copies away to. I bought a gem. Or so I thought. We both checked that the CDs were in good condition. Placed in CD player when I got home, with some excitement and Handel wafted out. Very nice, but not the Brian Eno that I had bought. I know Eno can be experimental but with strings??

Phoned up, excellent service - they're sending out the correct disc and providing an SAE for me to return the Handel. He wanted to offer me some form of credit note if I should pop into their shop again. I declined that, graciously - they ARE a charity and the CD only cost £2.99 and the service I got was personal, apologetic and above all, resolved easily.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.