Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

MONO MONDAY: METAL

It's such a gloomy day in the mountains today that it's probably a good thing it's Mono Monday!! I decided that I would take an image of the main part of the "Wombat Hollow" house and our metal water tank which is the bottom part of our "Billabong" that has featured in many a Blip.

When designing the house 14 years ago we were very aware that we would be building in an extreme fire zone and so a lot of thought went into the material that was used in its construction. Our strategy certainly paid off in 2002 when a bush fire blasted through the property. Even though there wasn't a green leaf left after the fire went through, the house survived without even a blister.

I lived in a big old caravan which I had brought out to the block while I was building. I lived in the caravan for just on 12 months before I was able to move into the house.

The metal water tanks have been a wonderful attraction for the birds and wildlife that come buy on a regular basis. I noticed a huge increase in wild life traffic as soon as they were established. Our most famous visitor was "Wally" the Wallaby who called by one Sunday afternoon and decided to take a dip in the top tank. If you missed seeing this Blip I encourage you to take a look. We may never see the likes again.

Thanks again to ffredsmum (formerly Tywynsue) for hosting Mono Monday once again. It looks like the challenge has really taken off and I love looking at the other entries each week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.