But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Horn of Empty.

On my way to pick up Mrs Merlin's pension I noticed the possibility of this shot. In the middle of Loanhead, near to the sculpture of the pit pony, there is one of a large cog and horn as part of a memorial to men who lost their lives in the local Bilston Glen Colliery; the sculptor was Andrew Burton. The horn always reminds me of a cornucopia that is deficient in the generosity department, but that's just the way that my deranged imagination works, its bell end is visible through the centre of the gear wheel. On its pointy end, there was a small cat until it was removed by vandals. Probably the same crew that go around removing car badges.

I only had a very compact camera with me and so I was surprised at how well it coped, howeverl, the contrast was a little too much and so the highlights are burnt out. I must return with a real camera when there are some pedestrians around to add interest. I might also look for a slightly better viewpoint; it seems as though the general composition is sound but could do with a little tweaking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.