CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Easter Egg Rolling

A glorious Easter Sunday, warm weather and bright sunshine. After our respective Church services the family gathered in Baxter Park for the traditional Rolling of the hard boiled eggs, which had been painted by the children yesterday. My part in the process, probably the most important part, or the only one I could be trusted with, was to time the eggs after the water boiled for 6/7 minutes and then run them under the cold water for several minutes - so that 'there would be no black rings on the eggs'. I was, of course, on tenterhooks to see whether I had completed my task as instructed.

Everyone lined up and then, with an underhand delivery, rolled the egg down the hill as far as it could go. No one's shell broke the first time so it was back up the hill to try again. Eventually, after some coaching that high overhead deliveries would be allowed, most peoples shells broke. You can imagine my relief when almost without exception, no black lines were to be seen - I say almost, because the head checker who had given me the instructions, found traces on one egg!

There is a point to this tradition - it was on the First Easter morning that the stone was rolled away to reveal that Jesus was not dead but alive!

Afterwards, we all trooped off to my Son's house and had a wonderful family meal together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.