SOMETHING FOR THE LADIES

I went to see my friend, Clare, today to take her a couple of gifts that I had décopatched. She has worked very hard over the last couple of years and now has a thriving lingerie business where she has a great team of ladies - and only ladies, for obvious reasons - although I'm sure a lot of men would be happy to help her out with measuring etc.

She couldn't stop to chat for long as they were busy stock-taking, but I quite understood. I wondered if there was anything I could blip so had a quick look round, but thought that half naked models, whilst very nice, might offend someone! On the way down the stairs, I noticed this Bra Bank and was asking her about it.

She told me that this exciting project keeps textiles out of landfill, helps small businesses in Africa and raises funds for ground breaking research, working to improve detection and increase survival after breast cancer diagnosis. So as they say on their website a Win! Win! Win! situation and an "uplifting" way to help support their work without lifting a finger!

You may remember that one of my other friends, Vanessa, is going in to have breast surgery on Thursday, and this made me think of her. I'm sure there are many reading this who have friends going through similar circumstances and sometimes, we feel so helpless, but fret not, ladies (sorry men!) sort out your old bras and take them to a Bra Bank - you will certainly feel that you have done something positive to help.

“Wherever you turn, you can find someone who needs you.
Even if it is a little thing,
do something for which there is no pay
but the privilege of doing it.
Remember, you don't live in a world all of your own.”
Albert Schweitzer


Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday but I need to correct something - the man photographed wasn't "Pete" but someone I saw on the bus - I think the comments will make Pete laugh though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.