La vida de Annie

By Annie

Christmas Day...

.... is celebrated in the same way in hundreds of homes across Liverpool; trying to remove the security seal from a bottle of champagne. After much research we found a hacksaw to be the most effective means of removal.

Apart from the delay in making the morning buck's fizz, the day has gone well: the enjoyable exchange of thoughtful, silly or downright insulting gifts; the trying to get all the components of the Christmas dinner ready at the same time (but still finding the parsnips in the oven an hour after the meal was over); the dreadful cracker jokes; #1 son whimpering "I'm so full I could cry" and then proceeding to polish off a plate of pud with brandy clotted cream; the noisy squabbling once the booze had run out; and finally the gentle snores from all in front of the TV while I try to post a blip.

Now that peace reigns once more my thoughts turn to those loved ones who cannot share this day with us. This song is for you.

Lake is frozen over
Trees are white with snow
And all around reminders of you
Are everywhere I go

It's late and morning's in no hurry
But sleep won't set me free
I lie awake and try to recall
How your body felt beside me

When silence gets too hard to handle
And the night too long

And this is how I see you
In the snow on Christmas morning
Love and happiness surround you
As you throw your arms up to the sky
I keep this moment by and by

Oh, how I miss you now, my love
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas my love

Sense of joy fills the air
And I daydream and I stare
Up at the tree and I see
You're a star up there

And this is how I see you
In the snow on Christmas morning
Love and happiness surround you
As you throw your arms up to the sky
I keep this moment by and by

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.