In Good Company

The statue of musical saw player, union organizer, and cultural icon Tom Scribner is at the front entrance of our fabulous independent bookstore on the main street of town. I love the violinist playing under his protective arm. After I'd turned and began the walk home, I realized what he was playing: Red Wing, a song my mother used to sing when I was a little girl:

Now the moon shines tonight on pretty Red Wing,
The breeze is sighing, the night bird's crying,
For afar 'neath his star her brave is sleeping,
While Red Wing's weeping her heart away.


And there I was with tears in my eyes. I haven't heard that song in a long long time.


I made music myself this morning: at 730 am a group of us ukulele players stood almost in this very place to serenade folks participating in Bike To Work Day. There was a free breakfast stop with Verve coffee, Jamba Juice and several local bakeries contributing snacks for the riders. We played, of course, Bicycle Built For Two and Baby You Can Drive My Car, er Bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.