Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mew...

Gray Catbird (Dumetella carolinensis)

I adore these birds. They showed up about 2 weeks ago, right no schedule, heard before seen. They are beautiful, elegant looking birds with an amazing range of vocalizations. Related to mockingbirds, they are talented mimics and will often string together the songs of several birds making their own unique song. And their songs can last up to 10 minutes! They are known to be secretive birds, often flitting in and out of thick shrubbery, and more often heard than seen.

For whatever reason, the catbirds who've settled in our garden this year are not as shy as some in past years. They seem used to people and will come within 10 feet of me if I am sitting still. There are several pairs here now, and it seems like they are nesting - occasional aggressive posturing and chasing between rival males keeps things interesting.

They are very easy birds to photograph from an exposure perspective - their eyes show well and it's easy to capture the feather detail. I just wish I could capture their song for you so you could enjoy it as much as I do!

Hubs and I have been selling some things on eBay - he just sold a small mini-bike and his boat. And I am selling some Lalique crystal goblets (a wedding gift and one we've never used - I don't like drinking out of anything that is going to make me cry if I drop it!) and some old coins and other miscellaneous things. There is something quite addictive about eBay - it's fun to watch the bids come in.

My naturalist group is doing a walk tomorrow and I am debating whether I will go. I am a bit behind on things here right now, so I should probably stay home and sort ... but, the idea of being out in nature for 4 hours is seductive... I guess I will see how I feel in the morning.

Thanks for your comments and stars on my carnivorous damsel yesterday - and apologies to those who don't like insects. If it makes you feel any better, catbirds are insectivores and will very gladly eat damsels and dragons given half a chance!

Happy Hump Day, people...

Debbi

PS: if you want to see a few other pics, I've posted four Starting here with one of the Flying Burrito Brothers... The squirrels have reminded me that there was some discussion this past winter about staging another Alternative Olympic Games (AOG) this summer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.