gritted

It was nice to be able to get out and about for a proper holiday-style wander in the snowiness today, even if it's really just a normal weekend day and everywhere is still a bit over-populated and lots of the extra people as well as the normal people were ineffectually wielding umbrellas, though snow and the little bits of polystyrene-packaging-style stuff which precipitated about ten minutes before this was taken are even more effective than rain at being driven into people's faces now matter how underneath umbrellas or deep within even the Parkariest of coat-hoods they are. Some people seemed pleased by it, though. I had a couple of things to find, one thing to pick up, five things to drop off and one thing to check this afternoon but would gladly have popped out even without any definite purpose other than being out in it.

Much the same applied to a further popping-out later in the evening after a fresh dump of snow. Despite checking that I had my tripod-fixing plate I initially forgot my tripod, but noticed quickly enough to pop back to get it. It was only when I first reached for my camera that I realised I has no memory cards, not even the really crappy spares I usually keep in the smaller camera bag (which had unfortunately become the Other camera bag a few minutes prior to heading out due to the amount of stuff I was carrying). I had even picked up the MP3 player whose memory card I could have borrowed and almost put it in my pocket before deciding that the quietness of the snowy city would be a better thing to listen to than the large amount of cello-centric father-music I acquired in Parentshire last week. Still not a wasted trip, though I've set a couple of extra alarums for the morning to get out to wander around before too many other people wake up and also to slightly re-acclimatise to employment-specification waking-times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.