springlilly

By springlilly

Sanderlings - colour marks

Sanderlings (on Narin beach) in their summer plumage, I just noticed the colour ring on one of them, when looking at the photo, a pity I did not get it in focus.
Sanderlings in winter plumage.
I sent an email with this photograph that included a Sanderling with a colour tag, to see if it could be identified. On Monday I received a reply & hey presto, it turns out that it was tagged in Greenland on 26/7/13, spotted on the Isle of Man 16/9/13, in France 15/3/14 (Pentrez), 27/3/14 (Sainte Anne-la-Palud), 17/4/14 (Lestrevet, Plomodiern) & on Narin beach, Donegal on 16/5/14, such a small bird but very well travelled. I will be watching out for the tags with even more interest the next time I see Sanderlings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.