But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Engrailed Cross(es).

I'm finding that I have to be pedantic over the titling of my missives theses day, otherwise I am sure to be picked up for the most trivial of errors. Having said that, I am always complaining about the way the BBC newsreaders maul the English language (e.g. "the small mouse and elephant" instead of "the elephant and small mouse.")

A quick Google revealed the following gems:

The engrailed cross, shown on these railings, is a heraldic symbol of the Saint Clair clan, I've not come across it in any other context. It seems that the notches symbolise a grill (grail) protecting the “true” cross; there are other suggestions, but they seem to be even less probable. It is also suggested that there is a piece of the true cross (Amongst other relics) buried underneath the chapel, excavation is unfortunately out of the question.

The clan motto is, "Commit thy work to God," which might explain the inordinate amount of effort that went into the building and decorating of their chapel, which may, in turn, explain why only the chancel was completed.

The name Saint Clair is derived from the Latin for "Holy Light," which sounds a little pretentious to me.

The clan chief's crest is a “rampant cock“ (according to Wikipedia); that might cause some embarrassing problems in the heat of battle.

I’ve just posted Thursday’s “Penicuik Road.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.